Using molecular self-assembly we build supramolecular polymers that derive their functionality from responsivity to molecular or mechanical stimuli and from their structure at the nanometer length scale.

Corona proof group photo – please click on picture for a larger view

At the Supramolecular Polymer Chemistry group at Eindhoven University of Technology we develop molecular self-assembly as a tool to create smart, responsive materials. The study of mechanically induced chemistry is one of our main activities. Also, as part of a coherent, interdisciplinary research program at TU/e, we contribute to the development and characterization of biocompatible synthetic materials that are mechanically indistinguishable from biological materials. Thirdly, we exploit photopolymerizable liquid crystalline materials to develop responsive and thin films, and nanoporous membranes.
Finally, we explore the chemistry of Dynamic Covalent Polymer Networks for 3D printing and other applications.

NEWS 2021

June & July:

July 19th: A  warm welcome to Zhiyong Ma, who has joined us for 1 year as a visiting researcher and to Roy Wink, our new Master student.

Congratulations to Annemiek van Hertrooij and Daniel Bouwens for successfully defending their Master thesis.


Nico van Rijswijk has joined our group for a Capita Selecta project under the supervision of Diederik van Luijk. Welcome!


We welcome a new addition to our group: Douriya Khedaioui, who joined our team as a Postdoc.


Welcome to Bart Saes, who joined our group as Postdoc!

NEWS 2020


Online publication in NEMO Kennislink (in Dutch) Duurzamere plastics voor de 3D-printer

Welcome to the new additions to our team: Steffijn de Koning, Martijn Scholten and Daniël Bouwens, Master students and Lisa Cattenstart, Bachelor End Project student!


A warm welcome to our new master student Annemiek van Hertrooij!


Online interview “Polymeerbindingen visualiseren” in c2w


A warm welcome to Tommaso Zani, Erasmus student, who will join our group for 6 months.


We welcome a new Postdoc in our group: Welcome Dr. Yinjun Chen ! Also a warm welcome to Nensi Toncich, an Erasmus student that will join our group for the next 6 months.
We also welcome back Eveline Maassen who returns as Postdoc to our group!

NEWS 2019


2 new Bachelor End Project students: Tom Bruining (coach Huiyi Zhang) and Isabelle Bijlmakers (coach Patricia Marin). Welcome!


Interview: Researchers develop 3-D printing substrate with dynamic bonds for adjustable properties. You can read the article here.

Welcome to our new Bachelor End Project students: Naomi Span(coach Annelore Aerts) and Laurens van Andel (coach Soumabrata Majumdar).

On October 2nd, 2019 Eveline Maassen has successfully defended her thesis titled: Dynamic Covalent Chemistry for UV Curable Networks. Congratulations Dr. Maassen!


On September 30th, 2019 Jan Henk Kamps has successfully defended his thesis titled: Differentiated polymers through the use of activated carbonates. Congratulations Dr. Kamps!

Welcome to our new Bachelor End Project student: Caitlin Pieneman.


Congratulations to Angelo Nicosia for winning the Best solution Award during the EIT Health Traslational Fellowship Program training camp, a European program held in St’Anne College (University of Oxford).

He won with his pitch about “A nano defence against bacterial contaminations”, that is a part of his PhD project.


A warm welcome to the newest addition to our group: Lotte Hoff.


New additions to the Sijbesma group: Yunfei Guo, PhD,  Angelo Nicosia, Guest PhD and Tessa Loman, Melvin van der Schaft and Martijn Scholten, Bachelor End Project students. Welcome!


Patricia Marin has won the Poster presentation award at the Dutch Polymer Days 2019 in Lunteren, March 25th and 26th 2019.

Title of her presentation was: Polymerizable liquid crystal based nanoporous membranes for water filtration



On January 29th 2019 Bao Li successfully defended his thesis titled: Productive Bond Scission Processes in Polymer Mechanochemistry. Congratulations Dr. Li!

News 2018


Congratulations to Annelore Aerts, who on the 13th November 2018, at the Annual DPI meeting in Eindhoven, received the Third Poster Prize for her poster with the title: “π-extended anthracene as mechanophore”